Advanced Photon Source

An Office of Science National User Facility

Byeongdu Lee of XSD Receives 2017 APSUO Excellence in Beamline Science Award

Byeongdu Lee, a physicist with the U.S. Department of Energy’s Advanced Photon Source (APS) at Argonne National Laboratory, is the recipient of the 2017 Excellence in Beamline Science Award. The award, which is presented by the APS User Organization (APSUO), recognizes “beamline scientists who have made significant scientific contributions in their area of research or instrumentation development and have promoted the user community in this area.”
Lee is with the Chemical and Materials Science Group in the APS X-ray Science Division. He was selected based upon his leadership and innovations in nanoscale science, particularly nanomaterials, and his significant contributions to x-ray scattering (more than 60 publications since 2013), including the theory, application, and development of analytical methods and state-of-the-art instrumentation.  He was also selected to acknowledge his demonstrated and sustained commitment to the APS user community by the education, training, and mentoring of young scientists.
The award is formally presented as part of the program for the 2017 APS/CNM Users Meeting, held at Argonne from May 8-May 11, 2017.
The Excellence in Beamline Science Award is conferred in alternate years at the Users Meeting to an active APS beamline scientist, regardless of employer or rank. It may recognize a career of meaningful sustained contribution, a body of recent important work, a single work of particular importance, or a combination of these accomplishments. Nominees must be full-time beamline scientists at the Advanced Photon Source who spend at least half of their time on user operations or instrument development. Any APS user may submit a nomination. The awardee is recognized at the Users Meeting, receives a $1000 award, and has hers or his name added to the award plaque hanging in the atrium in Building 401.