Advanced Photon Source

An Office of Science National User Facility

Department of Commerce Awards Work on APS USAXS Instrument

Department of Commerce Awards Work on APS USAXS Instrument At a ceremony in Washington D.C. on September 27, 2016, the Secretary of Commerce, the Honorable Penny Pritzker, presented Department of Commerce Silver Medals to Dr. Andrew Allen and Dr. Lyle Levine, from the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), for their groundbreaking work on the ultra-small-angle X-ray scattering instrument at the Advanced Photon Source, Argonne National Laboratory.  This work was conducted with NIST associate Dr. Fan Zhang. The Silver Medal, the second highest honorary award given by the Department, is granted by the Secretary for exceptional performance characterized by noteworthy or superlative contributions that have a direct and lasting impact within the Department.  The award description reads, “[Dr. Andrew Allen and Dr. Lyle Levine are] honored for establishing innovative new instrumentation and software to measure microstructure and dynamics in materials over many length scales and under real-world conditions.  Their achievement, illustrated through key application studies, provides a new window into materials’ behavior that fosters their deployment into energy, building, and other technologies.  The tools, incorporated into a facility that leverages the powerful X-rays at Argonne National Laboratory, are now a sought after resource for industrial, government, and academic scientists nationwide.”