Advanced Photon Source

An Office of Science National User Facility

Registration for the 2017 APS/CNM Users Meeting is open

2017 APS/CNM Users Meeting

Registration for the 2017 APS/CNM Users Meeting is open at

Conference website2017 APS/CNM Users Meeting


The meeting is scheduled for May 8-11, 2017, with CNM Short Courses being held on the 11th. The theme of this year’s meeting is Driving Discovery, and the lineup of workshops and symposia certainly highlights the ongoing momentum of research being conducted at the APS and CNM.

This year’s meeting banquet is being held at the lovely Meson Sabika in nearby Naperville. This event is not to be missed, and foodies will enjoy the tapas feast planned for meeting attendees on Monday night, May 8, and flamenco dancing and music will provide authentic dinner entertainment!

Students can apply for travel support and for a chance at being selected for the Student Invited Talks at the facility plenary sessions, and post docs/early career scientists can submit their work for a spot in the Speed Science Slam, which will take place during the combined plenary session on Monday morning. See for details on all these opportunities!

The meeting will also highlight a large number of exhibiting companies of interest to the research community. The annual Poster Session is set for Tuesday, May 9, and is sure to offer great company and conversation with the scientists and staff that make up the user communities of the APS and CNM.

CNM Short Courses are being offered on Thursday, May 11—see for further information.


In conjunction with the 2017 meeting, the APS is presenting two awards—calls for nominations are now open for the APS Compton Award and the Excellence in Beamline Science Award.

The Arthur H. Compton award was established in 1995 by the APS Users Organization (APSUO) to recognize an important scientific or technical accomplishment at the Advanced Photon Source. The award consists of a plaque, a talk given at the Users Meeting, and $2500. Nomination materials can be submitted on line at List of nomination packet materials is available at the web site. Packets are due March 24, 2017.

The “Award for Excellence in Beamline Science” recognizes beamline scientists who have made significant scientific contributions in their area of research or instrumentation development and have promoted the user community in this area. The winner is recognized at the Users Meeting, receives a $1000 award, and has their name included on the award plaque in the APS Atrium. Nomination materials must be submitted on line at and are due no later than March 24, 2017.

We hope you will be able to join us for this exciting meeting!

The local organizing committees of the Advanced Photon Source and Center for Nanoscale Materials