Advanced Photon Source

An Office of Science National User Facility

Robert O. Hettel has been appointed director of the Advanced Photon Source Upgrade Project at Argonne National Laboratory. He will join Argonne in November 2017. Hettel, a veteran accelerator designer and expert on storage ring light sources, comes to Argonne from SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, a U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science Laboratory that includes the Stanford Synchrotron Radiation Lightsource. In his new role, Hettel will oversee the planning, construction and implementation of the Upgrade of Argonne’s Advanced Photon Source, a U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science User Facility. This $770 million project will create the world’s ultimate three-dimensional microscope and enable researchers to view and manipulate matter at the atomic level to solve complex science problems across multiple disciplines.
Under conventional magnification, the crystals Aaron Robart grows in his West Virginia University (WVU) lab may look like simple rock salt, but by bombarding them with x-rays, he and his research team can build computational models that reveal the molecules within. On August 22, Robart, assistant professor of biochemistry in the WVU School of Medicine, used the powerful Advanced Photon Source at the U.S. Department of Energy’s Argonne National Laboratory in Chicago to zap three types of life-sustaining crystals with x-rays, revealing molecular structures that resemble tangles of corkscrew pasta or patterns of daisies. And he did it without leaving Morgantown, West Virginia.
The first Jan Evetts Award for the best paper by a young researcher published in the journal Superconductor Science and Technology has been awarded to Ibrahim Kesgin of the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science’s (DOE-SC’s) Advanced Photon Source at Argonne National Laboratory. First-author Kesgin’s paper is entitled, “High-temperature superconducting undulator magnets.” His co-authors are Matthew Kasa and Yury Ivanyushenkov, all of the Accelerator Systems Division of the Argonne Advanced Photon Source, and Ulrich Welp of the Argonne Materials Science Division.
The Center for Nanoscale Materials (CNM) is soliciting proposals for user-initiated nanoscience & nanotechnology research. The CNM provides external users with access to a broad range of capabilities for design, synthesis, characterization, and theory & modeling in order to significantly advance the understanding of nanoscale phenomena and develop functional nanoscale systems. Access is provided at no cost to users for research that is in the public domain. Deadline for submission: October 27, 2017
Argonne National Laboratory has recently implemented an access policy (LMS-POL-59) for minors (defined as anyone under the age of 18) coming to the Lab for research-focused visits, educational and outreach programs, tours, and personal visits. The Advanced Photon Source (APS) would like to make the user community aware of some general requirements and guidelines for common types of visits by minors here at the facility.
May 11, 1995, representatives from PNC-CAT including PNC-CAT Director Edward Stern, met with David Moncton, Associate Laboratory Director for the APS, to formally sign a Memorandum of Understanding, becoming the 11th APS CAT to do so. From left in the pho
Edward A. Stern, Professor Emeritus, University of Washington, and founding Director of the Pacific Northwest Consortium Collaborative Access Team at Sector 20 of the APS, passed away on May 17, 2016.
Stuart Henderson
Spring is always a busy time at Argonne and the Advanced Photon Source, with various reviews, and this season has been especially jam-packed at the APS Upgrade (APS-U).
Argonne Distinguished Fellows represent only three percent of research staff at the facility, making the award the highest scientific and engineering rank at the laboratory.
Fig. 1. RSMap3D user interface. Top: Interactive view of the full scan space imported from acquisition data given in the dialog to the right. Via the interface users select scan geometry and image files, and instrument configuration settings. Bottom: View
The impressive variety of world-leading techniques performed at the APS coupled with the facility’s diverse user-base naturally leads to a demand for a variety of different software tools.
With the selection of nine exceptional beamline proposals, announced on July 20, the APS Upgrade Project has taken an important step toward our goal of making the Advanced Photon Source the most technologically advanced and productive hard x-ray lightsource the world has ever seen.
The University of Wisconsin-Madison was fined $56,000 after Transportation Security Administration agents discovered hazardous materials in a student researcher’s checked luggage.
John Connolly, Director of the APS Engineering Support Division.
John P. Connolly joined the Argonne Photon Sciences Directorate as Division Director of the APS Engineering Support (AES) Division as of March 14, 2016.
Kirsten Jensen, University of Copenhagen, Denmark, with the European Powder Diffraction Conference Award for Young Scientists.
APS user Kirsten Jensen (U. Copenhagen) given the European Powder Diffraction Conference Award for Young Scientists.
Sasha Zholents,  Director of the Accelerator Systems Division.
After six years of service as Director of the Accelerator Systems Division at the APS, Sasha Zholents has asked to transition from his management role to a full-time research role.
What are the underlying causes for an unusual increase in pulmonary disease in U.S. soldiers returning from military service in the Middle East?
Andy Stevens (FMS) and one of the new 9,000-gallon LN2 tanks. Click image to enlarge.
The upgrade of APS liquid nitrogen distribution system (LNDS) is almost complete, making it more robust than it has ever been and further improving the availability of x-rays to APS users.
Ling Li, Harvard University
The 2016 APSUO Rosalind Franklin Young Investigator Award went to APS user Ling Li (Harvard U.) for developing a fundamental understanding of the design of biological materials.
Neuqua Valley High School students at the APS. (Photo by Mark Lopez, Argonne National Laboratory) Click image to enlarge.
The experimental facilities of a typical high school physics classroom don't usually include a synchrotron.
John M. Byrd accepted the position of Advanced Photon Source Accelerator Systems Division Director in the Argonne Photon Sciences Directorate, effective July 3, 2017.