APSUO Arthur H. Compton Award

About the Compton Award

APS Arthur H. Compton Award

The Arthur H. Compton award was established in 1995 by the APS Users Organization (APSUO) to recognize an important scientific or technical accomplishment at the Advanced Photon Source. The award consists of a plaque and $2500.

The awards are generally made at APS User Meetings, which are held every spring. A call for nominations is sent out four months before the meeting, and the winner is notified at least two months in advance and invited to give an award lecture at the meeting. Awards are not necessarily made each year.

Compton was an American physicist who won the Nobel Prize for Physics in 1927 for discovering and explaining changes in x-ray wavelengths resulting from x-ray collisions with electrons, the so-called Compton effect. This important discovery in 1922 confirmed the dual nature (wave and particle) of electromagnetic radiation. A Ph.D. from Princeton University, Compton held many prominent positions, including professor of physics at The University of Chicago and chairman of the committee of the National Academy of Sciences that studied the military potential of atomic energy. His position on that committee made Compton instrumental in initiating the Manhattan Project, which created the first atomic bomb.

 Current Winner

2013 Compton Award Presented to David E. Moncton, John N. Galayda, Michael Borland, and Louis Emery

Presentation of the 2013 Compton Award. From l to r: Brian Stephenson, David Moncton, John Galayda, Louis Emery, and Michael Borland.The APS Users Organization presented the 2013 Arthur H. Compton Award jointly to David E. Moncton, John N. Galayda, Michael Borland, and Louis Emery. The award recognizes the recipients' visionary leadership and technical ingenuity in introducing "top-up" operation to the synchrotron radiation community.

Top-up operation has substantially improved both the intensity and the quality of the x-ray beam for experiments. The method is now used in most third-generation light sources worldwide and is integral to the design of new sources, such as the Diamond Light Source and the National Synchrotron Light Source-II.

"It has fundamentally changed the operational paradigm for all the world's synchrotron facilities," said Moncton. "Facilities can now run at their maximum x-ray output all the time, significantly increasing the production of x-rays around the world. Perhaps more important, beam stability and operational flexibility have been greatly enhanced as well," he added.

View press release »

Past Winners


User Office Footer

To comment on the contents, please contact apsuser@aps.anl.gov.